Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Policies...
mismatchedsocks 11:34 AM 08-26-2011
I have a 13 page contract. Its pretty detailed but reading some of the things on here makes me want to add on to mine. I have been adding to it for about 11 years, and am pretty happy with it. But I figure I will touch it up and rehand out to parents at confrence time at end of year.

What are the most important things that need to be included?
What are some things that you include now because of issues that have come up?
If parents are reading this what do you want spelled out to you that is still unclear sometimes?

Do you write about your teachings, curriculum or anything like that in yours?
Thanks!
Blackcat31 02:07 PM 08-26-2011
My contract/handbook started out very basic, 3 or 4 pages. I added more as I got more experienced and needed to address more situations I hadn't thought of earlier. I think the longest it got to be was about 15 pages with a million sub-topics and updates constantly.

Fast forward a decade or so and I have a one page contract and that is it.

Everything is discussed in depth with my families, during the interview, when things come up and if I, or they, feel the need to talk about or address something. There is no way I could cover every topic and area in writting that needs to be discussed and formatted to meet each unique families needs.

Now, I am really just super duper good at just saying what I want/need/allow and we go from there. My parents are very respectable and if they arent sure or a new situation arises, we talk about it. What I let fly with one parent or family, I may not allow another parent to do. Every provider-client relationship is different.

My backbone is good and strong and my communication skills are the best they have ever been in regards to running the type of business I want to run.
rjskids 02:44 PM 08-26-2011