Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Help!! 21 Month Olds Crying Driving Me Nuts!!
Angelwings36 08:12 AM 09-09-2011
I have been holding a space for 6 months now for a family of a 21-month-old girl that started with me in the beginning of September.

Dcg is a very sweet and loving child, but on the flip side her constant crying for “mommy” is driving me batty! Dcg is already crying when she reaches the door at 7:30am (my earliest drop off time) and continues to cry until 8:30am (my latest drop off time). I literally cannot answer the door without her screaming blue murder! So this is how my day begins!

The crying will slow down after the last child is in my care and my door is not being open anymore, that is, if I let dcg do whatever she wants. Dcg has decided that she doesn’t want to be in the daycare main play area and will sit out in the kitchen by herself. Of course I do not allow this, so that means every 5 minutes I have to pick up dcg, carry her back to the daycare main play area, while she is kicking and screaming blue murder the whole time! This goes on all morning long…

When lunchtime comes she will throw any food item I give to her and absolutely refuses to eat! This child is surviving on milk alone, as she will not even drink water when I offer it to her! Dcm says that dcg drinks A LOT of milk at home, sometimes 4L in 3 days.

Dcm informed me on the first day that dcg arrived at daycare that she will not nap in a pnp, so I have her in my quiet time area. This is the ONLY thing that seems to be going ok. Dcg wears herself out so much screaming blue murder all morning that when I place her in her quiet time place she does go to sleep and does remain on her matt the whole time. Does this make sense? I can’t get her to stay in the play area all morning, but at naptime she doesn’t have a problem with it? My play area gets turned into the ‘older’ kids quiet time area for afternoon naptime.