Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Disrespect By Own Family
Logged out 10:32 AM 09-05-2013
I love being a daycare provider. I have my degree in early childhood and I love being in charge of my own program. I was so miserable working in centers. I love my DCK's and families. I have a great reputation and word of mouth in my community.

However, I struggle daily with my own family's total disrespect for my job. The do not respect the time and effort I put into keeping the house clean and up to regulations. In fact, I often feel like they directly sabotage my efforts.

They do not respect my materials and constantly break/steal/loose/destroy toys, art supplies, etc. These are teenagers I am talking about here, not little kids. They know what they are doing.

Every time something, anything, happens my job is thrown in my face. If I dare ever say, "I'm tired" or I have a bad day, a parent rubs me the wrong way, or a DCK is naughty, it is immediately thrown in my face that "maybe I shouldn't do daycare."

I am so exhausted from constantly checking the whole house and yard for messes and hazards. Even if everything is perfect when I go to bed, they will be up in the night and a whole new set of things I have to take care of will be present in the morning. I am so tired of going to get supplies/toys for an activity or project only to find them missing or destroyed.

I do not want to close my daycare. I really love being a provider. BUT I don't know if I can go on like this.
cheerfuldom 10:42 AM 09-05-2013
How old are these teenagers? If they are over 18, I would treat them like adults. lay down the house rules and ask that they respect those if they are to remain under your roof. If they are younger than 18, I would have them pay for items broken and stolen and I would do loss of privilege for disrespect to you. This is just crazy that you are having to deal with this from your own kids.