Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>What to do?
Unregistered 04:11 PM 05-13-2011
I've been a dc/preschool teacher for 8yrs at the same center, we are in a church in Indiana so we are tech. unlicensed but follow most state rules. The church we are in doesn't recognize us in anyway, but for the money we give each month, (I feel horrible about saying that). We are busting at the seams with children right now which would be good, but our current ratio's are stressing all of us teachers to the limit. We have each tried talking to our director about this, but she doesn't seem to care for example we have a child that has a slight disability, he's almost 2, scratches kids constantly, cries if not being held, his current teacher has 5 other children in her class from ages 17mths to 20mths, their room 7ft by 8ft with no windows (it was a copy room but the director enrolled to many kids and put this room together temporarily), she addressed her concerns about this child and was told to put him down and let him cry but when I said something to the director about how stressful that whole situation has to be she told me to mind my business. I am friends with all of my co-workers and that really hurt.

Now I'm getting more children in my class, which I have no cubbies or cots for, my ages are from 24mth to 35mths and I have 11 now her answert to that was maybe someone will be absent and I can use their cot, she didn't address the cubby issue. I actually call the state inspectors about the other room and when they came she told us to lie about the room (saying we didn't know) and denied it herself saying it was a church room for toddlers on Sunday. She also had us sign a contract stating that if you clock in or out late you get docked 15min and if you forget to clock in/out you get docked 15min.