Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Parents and Guardians Forum>Ever Take Another Child's Parents to Small Claims Court?
Unregistered 07:56 PM 04-20-2010
Just curious. I'm not at that point, but if there is one more bite I will.
QualiTcare 11:11 PM 04-20-2010
i'm no lawyer, but i don't think you'd come out well by taking this to court.

instead, you should take it up with the provider.

biting IS normal, and you don't mention the extent of the biting, but i realize it can be extreme.

my son at one point was bitten 2-3 times every day by the same child. the director of the daycare asked me for time so they could monitor the child who was biting/find her triggers, etc. which i did.

unfortunately, the biting didn't stop. when the worker was changing a diaper or just had her back turned, my son would get bitten.

it was hard because he was such a sweet natured little boy (not being biased) but that was his nature. it got to where he would cry his eyes out when i dropped him off because he knew he was going to be bitten!

i finally told the director (my husband and i went together to her office) that she was going to lose a child - whether it be my son or the biter. i just didn't think it was fair that my son had to leave vs. the biter. afterall, 2-3 times per day EVERY day is excessive.

she moved the biter up to the next age group - as she was getting ready to be 2 years old soon anyway. this not only got her away from my son, but she was intimidated by being the "little fish" in the 2 year old room, and she stopped biting all together.

i don't know if your care provider would be able to move your child or the biter, but if it comes to an ultimatum - "it's my child or the biter" the provider will usually choose you to stay vs. the biter.

give us an update!
kpa0627 07:23 AM 04-21-2010