Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Ugh!
DaycareMom 02:55 PM 09-25-2014
So I have been working with a certain daycare family for almost 5 years. The DCM just got a new job and wants to drop off baby at 6:45 a.m. (Right now he Is dropped off at 7:30 A.m.).
She did not offer any compensation and I know that Dcd could drop off at a later time but doesn't want to...
I feel bad saying no because they have been an awesome family to work with but I don't like the idea of working for an extra 45 minutes for free.

How would you handle this situation?
Thriftylady 03:00 PM 09-25-2014
Do you have a current rate tier? What are your current hours of operation listed as? I ask those two questions because I am looking for room for you to say "I will have to raise your rate to accommodate the extra hours". Such as my contracts, I set a rate of $XX for X hours per week, so to change the hours by much would require a new contract and possibly a new rate. Just as you don't want to lose them, I am betting they don't want to lose you after so long.
Naptime yet? 03:02 PM 09-25-2014
If there's one thing I've learned from this forum it's if you give some families an inch, they'll take a mile.

If you don't want to do it, don't. Or, tell dcm, sure, I'll do it for an extra $xxx per day.

I know we build relationships with families, especially the longer they are with us, but why should you sacrifice your time for a family that obviously doesn't really care about YOUR time? Dcd could drop off, but doesn't want to? That speaks volumes.
Blackcat31 03:21 PM 09-25-2014
Originally Posted by Naptime yet?:
If there's one thing I've learned from this forum ......
It's that when providers say a family has been great to work with or is a golden family, it just means that the family followed the rules and didn't create any waves.....which in my book is expected behavior and not something that automatically earns the family "special"...kwim?