Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>How Do You Handle A Waiting List?
daycare 03:08 PM 02-28-2012
In another thread about me eating my words someone asked about how I juggle a waiting list. Or should I say manage it.

I am no expert, but wanted others to also tel us all what they do too..

Thanks for posting
daycare 03:14 PM 02-28-2012
So to answer you, here is what I do.

I do my normal process.
Phone interview
Face to face meeting, tour and interview

If I am full or not, I still do it. Things in this biz change at the drop of a hat.

I also do a preschool program that runs exactly like the district schedule. SO I have a lot of request for fall enrollment.

I make tons of notes during the meet. I also rate them 1-5. 1 being the best fit, 5-means NO way and I have to tell them so.

I then add them to my wait list in MMK. The 1's always get called first when I have an opening. If they have moved on, then I call next on the list and so on.

I always advertise and always conduct interviews..

#1 thing I tell them is that I don't guarantee a spot and they are welcome to come and hold a spot with money at any time if they really want it that bad.
Heidi 03:17 PM 02-28-2012
So, when they call and ask "do you have an opening?" how do you gently get around answering that?

My problem is I live 6 miles out of town, so part of the reason I'm asking is because I know I'm MUCH better than most of the places in town, but I need to get the word out. I have one opening later in March, and I need to get people in the door. THen I have 2 more openings for over 2 in August.
Cat Herder 03:29 PM 02-28-2012
My waiting list is super casual. For some years now all my prospective clients have been word of mouth referrals.

If I don't have an opening or they are still in the TTC phase (as most of my clients are), I offer to place them on my waiting list AND give them the number to CCR&R.