Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Starting My Curriculum This Week
Nickel 10:28 PM 09-03-2012
I currently have 1 child, an 11 mnth old and my 3 yr old daughter. So I was thinking of postponing "preschool", but I really want my daughter to get the benefits and don't want to wait. I figure if I pick up more preschoolers they can just jump right in.

This month we are doing back to school, my body, the 5 senses, teachers, letters, numbers, the color red, and apples. So I got my books from the library that I'm really excited about. And I was thinking of doing some apple paintings, incorporating that song head shoulders knees and toes. I love that song. lol. Reading the books, introducing the calendar. Talking about school, friends, and family. Maybe even making a mini family and friends scrap book using photographs and stickers (everyone loves stickers! lol)

But I'm not sure what else I want to do. I've never done an actual curriculum before, so I want to do some songs and dance, games, art projects (i love art projects. I have TONS of supplies like scissors, paint, crayons, markers, chalk, charcoal, 3d objects like feathers, sponges, tissue paper, etc).

So I guess what I'm asking, is what are you all doing for September? Any suggestions, and ideas? Games, activities? What does your week usually look like?

Thanks and hope everyone had a safe and fun Labor Day Weekend!!!
sharlan 10:45 PM 09-03-2012
I've been doing an ocean theme for the past two weeks. This week we'll talk about farm animals as we're going to the fair on Fri. I've brought out all of my farm animals and Little People farm. We'll go back and finish my last two weeks of the ocean unit I'm doing next week.

This year, I'm going to start out doing Letter of the Week with Confessions of a Homeschooler, plus a few other printables that I have. In Jan, I'll go back to my A Beka curriculum.
Countrygal 03:53 AM 09-04-2012
We are also starting today!