Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Leaving My RN Labor And Delivery Job To Do A Home Daycare
kelbachj9 01:08 PM 02-19-2014
Hi everyone I'm an registered nurse from Ohio and I have a few questions. I have been contemplating the idea of starting my own home day care. This would mean quitting my full-time job maybe working as needed at the hospital in labor and delivery. I have two young boys 16 months and eight years old and I was looking at the daycare requirements in my state and I feel as if my home would be what's called the type b.

I have a feeling I will be making less than I would with my full time job. I love children a lot and truly feel that this is my calling. My question is in Ohio you can have 3 kids under two and 3 older than 2. With your cost week to week do you feel I could make a good living? I would have to spend money upfront to buy things like toys crafts etc. right now I gross about 70,000 a year. And with one son in daycare my daycare costs are not that much.

My husband is very supportive yet this is a very scary move for me just looking for advice and encouragement
Blackcat31 01:38 PM 02-19-2014
Welcome to the forum!
Second Home 01:55 PM 02-19-2014
Realistically you will earn much much less than your current job . Even if you are at capacity it will be much less .
There is no way I could support myself on my child care income alone , most make less than minimum wage after expenses .

Here in MD the average income for a home daycare is 15-25 k a year .
CraftyMom 01:58 PM 02-19-2014
You will make much less unfortunately
spud912 02:00 PM 02-19-2014
Originally Posted by kelbachj9: