Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Pretend Play Props?
momneedscoffee 07:51 AM 03-03-2016
So my 2 3 year old boys are becoming more and more into pretend play than anything else. I am just looking for some ideas for props. I have a few dress up things, am working on making a play kitchen, have play food and dushes, tents, a couple dolls... Is there anything else that seems to be a favorite among the 3 to 4 year old age group (boys). Really needing some good ideas to make it through these last couple months of icky weather
Miss A 08:00 AM 03-03-2016
When I worked as a 3year old preschool assistant, the kids loved when we brought big boxes into the room that were large enough for them to fit into. They would spend days creating the perfect house by decorating the box I side and out with crayons, paper, markers and glue. When the boxes finally had to be retired, it was always sad to see them to.

Provide a lot of open-ended materials, such as paper towel rolls, toilet paper tubes, anything that looks like it can interest a child. They live "natural" materials that they can make their own, and it is very cost effective for you!

Another classroom favorite when I did 3's was "homemade" blocks. Cereal boxes, oatmeal containers, anything. They loved to build towns, houses, barns, and garages with the different shapes.
Cat Herder 08:00 AM 03-03-2016
Flashlights, back packs, orange construction paper (to shred for campfire), twigs (for campfire), cotton balls and tongs (roasting marshmallows over fire), fishing poles/wiffle balls and play tents have been a hit here this week.
Ariana 08:05 AM 03-03-2016
Get a small shoe box and make it into a mailbox for letters and then provide envelopes and paper and stickers for stamps etc. Set up a vet clinic with dr toys and stuffed animals....can also make a pet store with the stuffed animals, fake money, a cash register and phone.

So many options!
childcaremom 08:15 AM 03-03-2016