Daycare.com Forum

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Daycare and Taxes

Daycare and Taxes All things related to Taxes and running a Daycare post here. Topics of tax exemptions, forms, filings, tax write offs, IRS etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2011, 06:04 PM
DaycareMama's Avatar
DaycareMama DaycareMama is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 619
Default Parents Left Owing Me Money

If parents left owing me money then come back looking for a year end statement, do I have to give them one? Or can I make them pay me up to date first??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2011, 07:37 PM
Abigail's Avatar
Abigail Abigail is offline
Child Care Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,414
Default

How long ago did they leave? I would have taken the proper steps to try to get your money from the beginning with giving them a verbal then a written notice and then turn it in to small claims within so-many days. I would not withhold their childcare fees paid in 2010 because they did pay something even though they are not paid up-to-date. This is a good question. I'm not sure if you can mix the two forms together or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 11:42 AM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,789
Default Year end statements

Parents who want to claim the child care tax credit are supposed to give their caregivers IRS Form W-10 to fill out. Few, if any, parents are doing this. Instead, many providers give the parent a filled out W-10 or give the parent an end-of-year receipt. If you are on good terms with the parent it's a good idea to give the parents a receipt and have them sign it and keep a copy. You can use the W-10 for this purpose if you write the amount they paid you across the top of the form.

If a parent leaves owing you money, however, I would recommend not giving the parent a W-10 and not giving them any end of year receipt until they pay you what they owe you. You are not breaking the law by not giving the parent a W-10 or a receipt. The only time there is a consequence is if the parent gives you a W-10 and you fail to fill it out (the penalty is $50). So, tell the parent no receipt until you receive what's owed you.
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2011, 08:22 AM
Annette's Avatar
Annette Annette is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hudson Valley NY
Posts: 17
Default

If you pay the $50 penalty do you have to give them a receipt for what they paid. I have customer owing $265.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:23 AM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,789
Default W-10

No. If the parent gives you the W-10 and you refuse to fill it out, the IRS could find out and fine you $50. However, this doesn't mean you will be forced to give the parent a receipt for what they paid you. The parent will be able to claim the child care tax credit without your ID# as long as they have made a good faith effort to get your #. Giving a provider the W-10 is an example of a good faith effort, so the parent will get the credit.
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:08 AM
Annette's Avatar
Annette Annette is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hudson Valley NY
Posts: 17
Default

The parent already has my tax id. Can they still get a credit without my receipt for what they did pay?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2011, 02:03 PM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,789
Default Tax Credit

Yes, the parent can claim the child care tax credit without a receipt from you. The parent would have to show records of how much they paid you (cancelled checks) if they were audited.
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2011, 02:25 PM
Annette's Avatar
Annette Annette is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hudson Valley NY
Posts: 17
Default

thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:54 PM
Preschool/daycare teacher's Avatar
Preschool/daycare teacher Preschool/daycare teacher is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 635
Default

So if there's a family who is no longer in your care, do providers have to give them a receipt or something telling how much they paid for childcare? They haven't asked for anything, and have not given a w-10 to be filled out yet. So as long as they don't ask, the provider doesn't have to give them anything? I don't know if they have the tax id or not...if they did claim what they paid, but never asked provider for anything, and provider didn't give them anything, would provider still be charged $50 fine for it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2011, 09:18 PM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,789
Default Parent receipt

You don't have to give a receipt or give a Form W-10 to a parent who has left your program. If you are on good terms with them you might want to go ahead and do so, but it's not required. If the parent doesn't send you a Form W-10 then you cannot be fined $50 for failing to fill it out.
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-25-2011, 08:24 PM
Preschool/daycare teacher's Avatar
Preschool/daycare teacher Preschool/daycare teacher is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomCopeland View Post
You don't have to give a receipt or give a Form W-10 to a parent who has left your program. If you are on good terms with them you might want to go ahead and do so, but it's not required. If the parent doesn't send you a Form W-10 then you cannot be fined $50 for failing to fill it out.
Thank you! That's a big relief!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
non-payment, small claims

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daycare Provider Paid Time Off kgravino Parents and Guardians Forum 167 02-07-2018 09:23 PM
Child's Behavior At Pick Up momatheart Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 11 07-29-2017 02:39 PM
Parents Forgetting Field Trip Fees queenbee Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 20 07-26-2012 10:49 AM
Waking Child Up During Naptime momma2girls Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 29 07-05-2010 01:03 AM
Are Monitors for Napping Required? Unregistered Parents and Guardians Forum 41 07-02-2010 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming