Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Parents and Guardians Forum>How Often do Parents Change Service Providers?
umaine student 11:15 AM 12-13-2009
Hey all,
I'm a student at the University of Maine and I'm doing a little research for a project about the daycare system. I was wondering if I could get some ideas about how long parents generally stay with one daycare service, be it days or years. I'm also interested to know if parents will change providers multiple times in one year.

Any personal opinions you could offer would be incredible, and don't worry, I will NOT be using any personal names, internet hooks, etc. You will remain anonymous; I just need some numbers.
melissa ann 02:11 PM 12-13-2009
I started doing childcare in March 2008, this family is still with me. Another girl started in June 2008, but left in January 2009. Dad decided to move about 40 miles away for a new job.
mac60 02:32 PM 12-13-2009
98% of my families stay till their kids are in school fulltime. The longest I had a child was 7 years and she still comes b/a school. I take families for the long haul. Very rarely do I lose a family.
ConcernedMotherof2 05:40 PM 12-13-2009
My children have, unfortunately, had to attend several different daycares. The main reason for switching providers was moving (we used to be a military family). There have been very few instances (3 or 4... which to me is too much, but I really have been fortunate overall) in which I had to switch providers due to a safety issue or other serious concern.

I think you'll find that most parents want to keep their provider for the entire time their child needs care. If a parent is lucky enough to find a place outside of their home where their child is loved and cared for while they work, why would they want to give that up?
jen 08:06 AM 12-14-2009
I have had one family move away, but other than that the kids in my care generally stay with me until they are no longer in need of daycare...