Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Poopy Diaper Smell
midaycare 08:01 PM 08-13-2014
I'm still a newbie at home daycare, so I'm learning a lot this year.

One thing I can't stand is the poopy diaper smell. It makes my entire daycare smell like, well ... poop.

I change the diapers in a changing area, away from everything. I have the garbage bag in the farthest corner possible, yet next to the changing area. I put each diaper in a plastic bag, then tie it up, before it goes into the garbage bag, in the garbage can. I put a dryer sheet in the garbage can. I spray lysol and febreeze. And instead it smells like poosol and feboopy.

What does everyone here do to cover up/mask/get rid of that awful smell?

Oh yes, and I do take my garbage out every day.
Unregistered 08:15 PM 08-13-2014
Saw this in a hospital bathroom and looked for it online. Medi-Aire Biological Odor Eliminator. It works great and lasts a long time. I ordered this bottle in 2012 and it's still half full. One spray per room, two at most. The smell is slightly spicy and doesn't linger long.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Meyou 02:28 AM 08-14-2014
Can you keep a small garbage can outside the door for diapers? I used to do that in my old house because the smell seemed much worse there than in my current house. I emptied the bag nightly into a large outside garbage can.
hope 03:25 AM 08-14-2014
I use tall kitchen bags (a box from the dollar store) and put the smelly diaper in, twist, fold over, twist....and continue. It gives it about 4 layers before I tie the bag up. I also keep the garbage can in my laundry room which is far away from the rest of my house. I have kept a small garbage can on my basement steps on particularly poopy days.

Another great thing that works is these vent sticky things. I think they are supposed to go on air filter cartridges but I cut them out and stick them in my vents.
coolconfidentme 03:33 AM 08-14-2014