Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Naptime Update Emails/Pics to Parents??
SunflowerMama 11:55 AM 03-10-2010
I'm just starting out and b/c I have my own two kiddos my ratio of other kids is pretty low (4 at most and most days I'm around 2/3 b/c of my part-timers).

I have great nappers and everyone sleeps 1p - 4p. The last couple of days I've been sending emails to the parents to just tell them how their LO is doing and have been attaching silly pictures from our art/craft fun for that day.

How does everyone feel about that? I just don't want the parents to think I'm playing on the internet while I'm watching their LOs but during naptime I have the time and I know as a parent myself, I would love it.

I'm always careful in the subject line to mention naptime. "Naptime Update"....

www.littleacornchildcare.net
Persephone 12:05 PM 03-10-2010
I think that's okay if it's something you have time to do. I like the fact that you put in there "naptime update".

Maybe ask the parents how they feel about you sending them out?
mac60 01:16 PM 03-10-2010
I won't ever do it because I don't ever want to feel obligated to have to do it, if that makes sense. As far as what you do during naptime, your choice as your break of the day.
tymaboy 01:22 PM 03-10-2010
I have done thins quite a bit. I have not done it lately cuz I had 4 kids (2 & under) so I have just felt the need to rest myself. I will go back to taking more pics & updating the parents since I am loosing a couple.
originalkat 02:41 PM 03-10-2010
I used to tell parents that I would do that and then it got really time consuming to upload all the pics and then send out all the emails (I only have 4 full time besides my own 2 kids)...so I slowly phased it out. I think if you have the heart to do it then that is an awsome "service" you provide to your parents.