Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Days You Close Early
SilverSabre25 06:33 AM 12-27-2013
How do parents take it? Are they generally okay with it? Do you charge less for that day?

I have 3 days I'm looking at closing early next year (Trick or Treat, day before Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve). I'm thinking of closing at 3:30 each of those days. I've never done this before.
Unregistered 06:37 AM 12-27-2013
Those are reasonable days to close earlier. For a couple hours early, I would NOT reduce my fees. They're still taking up almost a whole day anyway.
daycarediva 06:41 AM 12-27-2013
I close early for Halloween & the day before thanksgiving. I close at 4 those days , half of my kids are picked up by 4 anyway. I do not reduce rates, I just tossed it in my handbook this year that if I am open more than 5 hours, it's a full day rate.
e.j. 06:48 AM 12-27-2013
The only day I plan to close early each year is Christmas Eve. The parents seem fine with it since most, if not all, leave their own jobs early. I do charge for the entire day and include it in my "paid holidays" section of my contract.

It doesn't happen often but if I have to close early unexpectedly for an appointment or because of my own illness, I don't charge parents for the whole day. If they've already paid me, I figure out what I owe them and deduct it from next week's tuition. I charge parents hourly, though, and my contract states that if I close the day care, I don't charge - except for paid holidays.
MBF 06:49 AM 12-27-2013
I close at 3 both Christmas eve, and New year's eve. No discount, usually only have 2 or 3 kids. Never had any complaints from parents.
Blackcat31 06:52 AM 12-27-2013
Originally Posted by daycarediva: