Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Insight On Two Children
Baby Beluga 08:36 AM 12-31-2015
I have two children in my care who I need some insight on, please .

One child is my own. She will be 4 in one week. The other child is a DCB who is 3.5. My daughter and DCB have been together for about a year and a half now.

Lately DD and DCB won't actually play or engage in an activity. They will sit together, make loud noises, make up words and laugh loudly. That's it. It often times become disruptive because the laughing turns into screaming and then lay on the floor and roll around. I have never experienced this with two kids before. Mind you I've been working with children since 2007.

Is this normal behavior? Am I a big meanie for not wanting this to happen? You can tell me if I am Or is this a way for them to "disobey." I'm so confused about this! I don't want to tramp on their fun....but are they really having fun? What are they getting from doing this?

FWIW, I have tried separating them and they usually end up doing the same behavior just across the room.
Silly Songs 09:03 AM 12-31-2015
They are being 4 year olds. Laughing, being silly, yelling. It's perfectly normal and expected. But you can tell them when it's time to stop.
Angelsj 09:05 AM 12-31-2015
I don't know that they are "disobeying" you, but if you don't want this behavior to happen, I would try engaging the other children (or yourself) in something quite interesting when this starts. Something that will draw them away from the behavior and engage them in another activity.
Over time, between ignoring the behavior and engaging them doing stuff together that is more acceptable, you should be able to put a halt to it.
finsup 09:21 AM 12-31-2015