Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Reserving Future Spots - Policy Vs Practical Question?
kdparadise 10:14 AM 05-14-2010
Okay, I'm new to the DC world and am still working on starting up, with a start date of 3rd week of June after a much needed family vacay! Yay!

I've had to pass up a few that were interested, I haven't advertised or anything, just word of mouth I suppose. My neighbor is a DC provider M-F with full timers, registered only and is maxed out one of her mom's is having another one induced last night!

So she maxed out, she gave a referral from her cousin's friend to me. I really liked her on the phone, your standard worried pregnant first time mom. She will be needing care 12weeks from now, so end of July. I had promised a baby spot to the lady that I've become friends with in the office that helps registered providers & I took the 45hr class from her, for sakes of ease will make her name Jane. Jane has connections and will be calling a lady who will help fill me up with Intel kids ---- that would be awesome! Well, Jane said it could take months and months maybe even 6 to fill my baby spot. Here I have a gal that is having a baby and will need care in 12 weeks.

1 - I am worried about burning a bridge with Jane, she has the Intel connectio and has helped me a lot.

2 - I'm torn anyway w/ accepting a baby early in starting out when I have my own 10M old baby to care for and it would be good to get a slightly older child(ren) that can take some direction.

3 - If I decide to commit to the gal needing care in 12weeks, I would want her to agree / sign something, pay me something ahead for saving the spot for her??? Suggestions on reserving future spots would be good?