Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Old Rate or New Rate?
Lianne 07:16 AM 09-22-2010
I've been doing home daycare for four years now. When I started, my fees were comparable to most in my town. Two and a half years ago I started a family with one child in my care for Mon/Wed/Fri. Fast forward to this past March and the family has a second child. In January, this second child will be starting in my care the same 3 days/week as his sister. This past spring I realized that the going rate for home daycare in my area has risen to $5/day more than what I'm currently charging. I've decided that I will NOT raise my rates for my existing families/children but will (and have) raised my rates for anyone new joining my care. My question is, for this family whose second child will be starting care, do I charge the old rate for the baby which is what they're paying for the daughter since they're already a client or do I charge them the new, increased rate because the baby will be new to care?

FTR, this family (as are all of my families) are fantastic clients. They never give me any grief, are more than willing to work with me, are flexible and reliable. All my current clients are like this which is why I've decided not to raise their rates.
mac60 08:09 AM 09-22-2010
Definately, charge the new rate. While I don't generally raise rates on existing families, I do raise them to my new rates if their situation changes....such as adding a sibling, change of schedule, days, etc. And if there is no change, especially with a sibling, it comes back to bite me in the butt bad, especially when a family is with you for 5 or 6 years fulltime, and it ends up being the same rate all those years.
Live and Learn 05:07 PM 09-22-2010