Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Sustainability Grant Proposal
CrackerJacks 01:21 PM 01-24-2013
Has anyone had to write a grant before? There is a local agency here that has a grant that I wanted to apply for. It's a "sustainability" grant and if chosen will cover the cost (up to a certain dollar amt) for any project that will help your program become more "green". I was already planning on building a raised vegetable/fruit planter this spring so this would be great. The only problem is, I've never written a grant before. I've googled it and it seems like a lot of work. I'm just looking for any tips or wording that might help me. Here is the info they are looking for in the grant proposal.

1. School/facility name, address, phone number
2. A detailed description of each proposed sustainability item
3. A budget of each sustainability item
4. An explanation of why the grant will help your school or center "go green" in a way that will increase your students awareness of the environment.
itlw8 01:42 PM 01-24-2013
make sure you follow EVERY requirement if it say sign in blue ink DO IT they may toss it without reading if you do not follow the rules.

Have someone proof read it. If you know someone with a degree in early childhood have them teacher it up but not too much. They have to understand it but key words like social development, cognative development, gross motor really do make a difference.

Many people do not do these because it is too much work. I was the ONLY one in my association that took the time to write a grant proposal 3 years ago. Well I got it and have a great playground with rubber mulch because of it. Yeah tons of work but worth it. Same with this Teacher award I just got. I tried to talk all of them into doing the work... nope too much work they said.

as far as your project I would add in composting, worm composting, a rain garden, rain barrels things that will help that garden use less water.