Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Do You "Remind" Parents to Pay or Just Tack on the Late Fee?
Valerie928 06:40 AM 09-06-2019
I have been working with this family for 18 months now. They always paid on time up until last pay day. Dad picked up and as he was walking away I said it's pay day. He went home and brought me back a check. This was the first time I ever had to ask them for pay. Fast forward to today. He dropped off, no check. If he doesn't pay me at pick up do I just say have a good weekend then tack on my late fee or tell him again before he leaves that it's pay day. I HATE asking for my pay. I think it's ridiculous to have to ask. I think it's rude that they "forget" ....Just pay your damn bill! Anyways, just asking how you approach this
CountryRoads 06:54 AM 09-06-2019
Originally Posted by Valerie928:
I have been working with this family for 18 months now. They always paid on time up until last pay day. Dad picked up and as he was walking away I said it's pay day. He went home and brought me back a check. This was the first time I ever had to ask them for pay. Fast forward to today. He dropped off, no check. If he doesn't pay me at pick up do I just say have a good weekend then tack on my late fee or tell him again before he leaves that it's pay day. I HATE asking for my pay. I think it's ridiculous to have to ask. I think it's rude that they "forget" ....Just pay your damn bill! Anyways, just asking how you approach this
It's very rude. I always wonder, "do these people "forget" to pay their mortgage? Electric bill? Car payment?" UGH.

I would send him a text that payment is due at pick-up or late fees will be applied.

I used to have this problem with one of my families when I first started. I didn't have a backbone and would make subtle hints that payment was due. I cringe looking back at it. I added in late fees and the problem stopped.

Edited to add: