Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Severe Separation Anxiety or Spoiled?
momofthree211614 05:28 AM 09-14-2012
I have been doing day care for 11 years, and teaching multiple aged children in center based daycare for 11 years before that, and have never come across a child like "Mikki" Mikki is an 8 month old who has been in my care a month now. And unless she is NEXT to me she SCREAMS. Constantly. She will not play with her peers for more than 5 minutes, before she starts screaming. I can not use the bathroom, make a meal or leave the room without her screaming. I do not give in, I do allow her to scream, I verbally reassure her, I am here, you are ok. You are not alone the kids are with you and I will be back after I... Some days I can't even sit on the other side of the room where my computer is, to take observation note during free play, without her screaming. My computer is on the other side of a gate in the same room, due to the placement of my pellet stove. She will stand at the gate, less than 3 feet from me screaming, trying to climb the gate, shaking it, trying to get me to come back. the minute I go back over to the other side of the room, she stops, and goes to play.
I have spoken to Mom and Dad and they have seen it at home, my problem is I believe they are giving in. I have also spoken to the Grandma who says that she has no gates at home keeping her from following mom and dad everywhere. My other proof of that is that by Friday I can get her to play along with her peers for longer periods of time. Monday is screaming h3ll around here.