Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>How Picky Are You??
Mary Poppins 08:35 PM 01-27-2012
Just curious about how picky you are when taking on clients?

I'm relatively new to dc but I'm afraid I'm becoming a bit of a dc snob.
PitterPatter 09:01 PM 01-27-2012
Originally Posted by Mary Poppins:
Just curious about how picky you are when taking on clients?

I'm relatively new to dc but I'm afraid I'm becoming a bit of a dc snob.
Well I was never picky, that was a lot of my problems! Now if it walks like a duck and talks like a duck at the interview then I know I will be cleaning up duck poop for the rest of the year!

I know you can't judge a book by it's cover but 1 family I was right on and didn't follow my instincts! DUH!
spud912 10:23 PM 01-27-2012
In reality it depends on how badly I need a spot filled. However, I try to be as selective as possible.
Unregistered 11:52 PM 01-27-2012
Take at least an hour in your interviews when you can. Sometimes you can tell within minutes. Other times parents are cautious and won't show their true colors til they are "comfortable" which takes about 30 minutes. The other 30 minutes is "filler" where they "talk" and out themselves in a lot of things. I learned a lot in my longer interviews. I could always tell the serious people from the ones who were wishy-washy and/or crazy (this was after 8 years of not learning my lesson, of course!) lol
Meyou 02:55 AM 01-28-2012
I'm very picky. I've interviewed up to 6 families for one spot before I've signed a contract with someone. I want healthy, active families with healthy, active, whole food eating kids who don't watch alot of tv. It's what works best with my program.
melskids 04:49 AM 01-28-2012
I'm pretty picky.

I can usually tell by the first phone call if they are a good fit or not.
AnneCordelia 05:07 AM 01-28-2012