Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Off Early but Wants Care Until 6
spedmommy4 03:47 PM 07-22-2015
Upfront, I told this mom that my program was not a good fit but I'm curious how common this is now.

A mom called yesterday and said she was looking for care for her three-year-old child. I asked what hours she needed care. She responded that she needed care from 7 AM to 6 PM. I close at 5:30 and won't extend my hours for anyone. I said, sorry I close at 5:30.

She said, " Well, I get off at 4 but I am a teacher so I regularly need care until 6." I'm not sure where she works but I loved my school district job because I was almost always home by 4, even in my first year of teaching.

I just can't imagine regularly leaving my child at childcare 2 hours past the time I was off work . . .
nanglgrl 04:26 PM 07-22-2015
In my area I would say it's very common. I charge a rate that gets higher every 1/2 hour after 3:30. About 90% of my calls are people asking for care until 5:30-6. When I explain my rates they suddenly can pick up much earlier making it so my closing time has been before 4:15 for two years and I'm full or as full as I want to be.
AmyKidsCo 06:16 PM 07-22-2015
My husband is a teacher and goes in to school at 6:30 every morning (school starts at 8) and stays until 5:30 every night (school ends at 3). He also does school work nights and weekends.

I'm not saying you should keep a child past your open hours, just that many teachers really do work long hours. It may not be that she wants to work that late, but with all of the new requirements she may have to work that late.
midaycare 06:48 PM 07-22-2015
Originally Posted by AmyKidsCo:
My husband is a teacher and goes in to school at 6:30 every morning (school starts at 8) and stays until 5:30 every night (school ends at 3). He also does school work nights and weekends.