Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare and Taxes>2012 Was My First Full Year Of Child Care, So How Exactly Do Taxes Work?
MaritimeMummy 05:41 AM 03-04-2013
So, I started home day care in September of 2011, only 1-2 days a week, for only one child. I was paid with no paper trail, no receipts, so it was not claimed on taxes.

This is my first year that I am actually claiming. My income from child care is very low, actually just under $9,000 for the entire year.

I have no idea how much i should have been taking off for myself for taxes. So, now I have no idea what to expect when it comes time to pay in.

Someone told me that I have to make over $20,000 before I have to pay anything in? I have no idea. That would be great if it were true!

I am in Canada, I expect that will make a difference with responses.
TomCopeland 07:30 AM 03-04-2013
Originally Posted by MaritimeMummy:
So, I started home day care in September of 2011, only 1-2 days a week, for only one child. I was paid with no paper trail, no receipts, so it was not claimed on taxes.

This is my first year that I am actually claiming. My income from child care is very low, actually just under $9,000 for the entire year.

I have no idea how much i should have been taking off for myself for taxes. So, now I have no idea what to expect when it comes time to pay in.

Someone told me that I have to make over $20,000 before I have to pay anything in? I have no idea. That would be great if it were true!

I don't know Canadian tax rules, so I can't answer your question. Sorry.
Meyou 08:28 AM 03-04-2013
Search for the home daycare provider section on the Revenue Canada website. It tells you everything you need to know.
Blackcat31 12:23 PM 03-04-2013
Originally Posted by Meyou:
Search for the home daycare provider section on the Revenue Canada website. It tells you everything you need to know.
http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/formspubs/tpcs/dycr-eng.html
Meyou 02:14 AM 03-05-2013
Now I feel lazy, BC!