Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Term or Not?
awestbrook713 05:51 PM 11-08-2011
Background this was my first dcm and dck. Mom got pregnant and I told her I she could have my last under 2 spot. I have been holding it for over 6 months now. Not a big deal I had enough other kids. Well mom has her appt to release her back to work thursday she said she probably won't be going back until the week after.

Over the summer mom came to me and asked if she could pay an agreed upon hourly rate, I didn't want to but did anyways. So dcm is paying SUPER LOW rate for her daughter. I am raising my rates and told her I would keep the daughter at the hourly but the new baby would be the $25 a day because both dad and mom are working and in the picture (so is dcg's dad but mom made it seem she was hard up)

I just found out you can't legally charge parents different rates if you have families on the childcare subsidy program which I have 2 families currently trying to qualify so I had to call mom and tell her I can't legally charge her the lower rate for dcg so she would be getting charged the regular rate for both kids $25 a day per child. I don't know all the rules on this law but it gave me the courage to tell mom she has to pay the rate I am charging not what she wants.

Shes not happy about the rate.

Problem 2: Mom just had a schedule change and will need me every other wednesday for an hour and a half. she doesn't want to pay the daily rate for so little time but oh well. Also I don't have enough spots for both kids only one of them. Again mom not happy.

Problem 3: Mom asks if I can watch kids day before thanksgiving (wednesday) I told her I don't know I will check with all the other parents and see if any one is not coming. I checked and everyone will be here so only one spot for one of her kids. I texted her to let her know and haven't heard back. This was friday night.