Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>New Here, Hi! Couple of Questions!
mamap 05:19 PM 10-25-2012
Hi All, I'm new to daycare.com, however I've been doing childcare in my home for almost 3 years (I know, still a newbie!) and as my group is growing I'm running into some problems that I wonder if ya'll have encountered.

First, I'm a stickler for things being in their place, and it's a habit I'm actually trying to break myself of. The more I remind the kids to keep the blocks in the block area the greater challenge it becomes for children to take the blocks elsewhere. I've got 3 rooms in my home devoted to child care, the first is a "staging" area where we play during food prep, eat our meals and nap. I don't have this problem in this room, the problem is in the two other rooms-the playroom and the classroom. These two rooms are in the basement but adjoin each other. So, I'm wondering if there's a better way to set things up to avoid this conflict (that I'm having with myself!). Such as mix up the classroom and play room so that there are play things in both rooms? Or does it even matter? It seems that regardless of rules regarding toys, etc, kids will do as they do. Does it hinder their play/learning to dictate the purpose and place for certain toys?

The deal I made with my husband when I started doing in home child care is that our home is still our home. This is why I have 3 dedicated rooms for child care. I enjoy my home being "adult" in certain areas, I don't want it to be a daycare throughout, I feel like I'd lose my mind if everywhere I turned I was looking at a bin of toys or a string of art work. Maybe I'm not cut out for this, but it seems like the only way I can find my balance. Do other providers devote their entire home or most of it to their business?

Thanks all!
Michael 05:21 PM 10-25-2012
Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum! I upgraded your status. You can post freely now.
cheerfuldom 05:33 PM 10-25-2012