Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Insulted
nikia 05:49 PM 12-06-2010
I went to a job interview today to see what options are out there and after I told them that I have been running a day care from home for the last 2 years I was asked the following question: Do you think you will have a problem coming back to a structured, professional workplace since you are coming from a unstructured, unprofessional background.

Maybe I am taking this the wrong way but WOW. I dont know what those ladies thought I do all day. Sit in jammies, eat bon-bons and watch soap operas. Now sitting back reflecting on decisions that need to be made I am reminded why day care appealed to me in the first place. I am just more amazed that they had such little value in what I do everyday. I wanted to say look lady I probably do 10 times the work you do but I didn't, but dang it I should have.

Just thought I would share that. And now after going to that interview I will stick with my jammies, snot full clothes, laughs and lots of love from my daycare kids even if their parents drive me nutty sometimes
kendallina 05:55 PM 12-06-2010
WOW! I hope you set them straight about how professional you are in working with your parents and how structured one must be when you have multiple children in your care. Geez...
marniewon 06:09 PM 12-06-2010
How rude!!!! You should have told them off!! Although, if you're anything like me, you were too shocked to think of something good to say that would be professional and yet put them in their place - until later anyway!
TGT09 06:09 PM 12-06-2010
Uhhhh not to mention running your own business!
QualiTcare 06:45 PM 12-06-2010
people don't value daycare workers. unless you need a "piece of paper" to do what you do, or unless you're making bank, people don't look at it as being a "profession." it's a job.

are you licensed? i think that makes a difference in people's perceptions of "a business" vs "babysitting."