Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Returning Items
Patches 08:57 PM 04-02-2014
So I termed a family the end of January and it wasn't very well received Anyway, DCM did not come to pick up her children's belongings when she said she would and never tried to set up another time to do so. She DID, however, threaten to sue me for the $ amount of the items.

My point being, I've been staring at this bag of stuff for 2 months now and want it gone. I do not think she will come get the items, but I don't know how long I should hold onto this stuff. I don't have anything in writing as far as how long they have before I trash their things, so that's why I haven't done it yet.

So, what would you ladies and gentlemen do?

Trash them?
Send them to the address on file?
Contact her? (prefer not to do this one)
Something else?
NoMoreJuice! 09:34 PM 04-02-2014
Send them UPS with tracking so that you have proof they were delivered.

CYA!
Starburst 09:42 PM 04-02-2014
I would probably call or e-mail her once and since it has already been 2 months ,I would tell her she has until a certain date to pick them up (if this was a storage unit, they would have already sold her stuff). If she didn't pick it up by a certain date it would be considered daycare property.

If you don't have it in your policies already, I would write in it that the family child care home and the owner/provider is not responsible for any missing, lost, stolen, or otherwise forgotten personal items that belong to the daycare parents, the children, or anyone dropping off and/or picking up the child(ren) and that if after termination of contract, the client does not pick up any left behind items after a certain amount of time that it becomes the daycare property.
Lucy 10:28 PM 04-02-2014
I would drive by her house and set them on the porch, then ding-dong-ditch.
Play Care 02:58 AM 04-03-2014