Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>How Do You Tell The Other Parents
Shell 04:23 PM 10-03-2013
I just received notice that one of my favorite dcg's and baby will be leaving in a month due to dcm needing more days, and I am full on the days she is looking for. Dcm was crying, and she said this was a very tough decision to make. I am devastated, because I really love the kids, and am uncertain as to what to tell the other families about them leaving.

As I mentioned in a previous post, everyone around here is preschool crazy-meaning they all believe their children must go to preschool in order to have an edge on education. I am surprised that many of the kids here have stayed on past their third birthdays, with all the pressure to enroll their kids in a preschool program. At the same time, my background is in education, having been a preschool/k teacher for many years, and I think parents factor this in to their decision making. However, now that dcg is leaving for a preschool, I am anticipating that others may start to consider this same move since someone else has now done this.

What would you tell the other parents? Would you be upfront that she is going to a preschool (it's really a daycare center, but it has a preschool room), or would you just keep it simple and say that they need more hours, etc and are better suited at a bigger daycare?
Blackcat31 04:27 PM 10-03-2013
I understand your worry but I wouldn't even discuss reasons a family leaves with other families, other than simply saying they no longer need your services.

I would consider that a confidentiality thing.
butterfly 04:29 PM 10-03-2013
I wouldn't say anything unless someone asked where Sally is at. Then I'd tell them they needed more hours than I had available.
butterfly 04:29 PM 10-03-2013
Originally Posted by Blackcat31: