Daycare.com Forum Kidacare by Minute Menu Force of Nature Disinfectant HiMama Childcare App

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Daycare and Taxes

Daycare and Taxes All things related to Taxes and running a Daycare post here. Topics of tax exemptions, forms, filings, tax write offs, IRS etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:00 AM
theoneandonly's Avatar
theoneandonly theoneandonly is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default Unlicensed Legal Help

Hey everyone, brand new here and have an important question that I need to ask.

I have been working for a school here in California for the past 6 years running their after school program.

as of this year, they let me take over and run it as my own entity. We only operate M-Th from 3pm to 5pm, I originally thought that I did not have to be licensed, but from the information I'm now gathering I think I might be. I am now in the process of applying for a license, and am fully qualified to do so.

My question is... If I got caught running it in the mean time, I know there is a fine of $200 per day, but is that retroactive? Meaning, do I get charged $200 from the date I began running the program, or from the date I get notified to cease?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:20 AM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,932
Default Licensed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneandonly View Post
Hey everyone, brand new here and have an important question that I need to ask.

I have been working for a school here in California for the past 6 years running their after school program.

as of this year, they let me take over and run it as my own entity. We only operate M-Th from 3pm to 5pm, I originally thought that I did not have to be licensed, but from the information I'm now gathering I think I might be. I am now in the process of applying for a license, and am fully qualified to do so.

My question is... If I got caught running it in the mean time, I know there is a fine of $200 per day, but is that retroactive? Meaning, do I get charged $200 from the date I began running the program, or from the date I get notified to cease?
I don't know the answer to this question. I recommend calling the California Department of Labor and ask the question. You don't have to give your name.
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2019, 12:14 PM
Michael's Avatar
Michael Michael is online now
Admin & Owner-Daycare.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Moorpark CA, Ocean Ridge, FL
Posts: 7,268
Default

By mail: California Labor & Workforce Development Agency
800 Capitol Mall, Suite 5000 (MIC-55)
Sacramento, CA 95814
By phone: 1-916-653-9900
By email:email@labor.ca.gov
__________________
Michael Castello
http://www.ccin.com/about.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
california - department of labor, dol, labor dispute

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT...sort of...Legal advise mrsnj Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 17 05-31-2017 08:34 AM
New Virginia Child Care Laws ruralchildcare Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 7 02-12-2017 12:06 PM
Unlicensed vs. Illegal...Mods? Hunni Bee Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 26 09-26-2013 04:41 AM
Unlicensed Child Care in Ohio CLynn Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 3 07-13-2013 08:28 PM
The Debate on Legal vs Illegal Daycare Unregistered Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 4 06-06-2013 07:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming