Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Termination
Bell_Bear_Child_Care 09:18 AM 11-30-2015
Hi, I am very new to this I have a single mom who works a sporadic schedule, I never have a day off to recuperate. moms hours range between 8 am - 10 pm 7 days a week with two days off that change weekly I have worked every weekend since accepting her child, I am burnt out how do I write a term letter for this issue?
Play Care 09:33 AM 11-30-2015
"Dear DCM,

Due to health issues, as of _______ date I will no longer be available to provide care for your child. Should you need assistance in your child care search, the Child Care Referral Agency can be reached at 555-5555. I have enjoyed caring for Susie and wish you the best!

Sincerely,

Happy Provider"

I am always of the "less said, soonest mended" school of thought.

If she asks why I would just say that my health hasn't been great and my doctor has said I need to cut way back. It wasn't an easy decision, but I've got to think of my family, etc. etc.etc. Be upbeat and positive and she will soon go away. If you try to "blame" her (hours, kids, etc) then that's when it gets dragged out.

But my motto is "don't go away mad, just go away"
nannyde 09:34 AM 11-30-2015
You don't have to term. Just let her know you are changing your biz hrs to Mon thru Fri from 730 am to 5 pm. Tell her she is welcome to have slots in those hours if she can make it work. Tell her you no longer do rotating or flex schedules. You offer full time with those hours. The date for this change is xxxxx.

She will quit on her own.
LysesKids 09:42 AM 11-30-2015
Originally Posted by nannyde:
You don't have to term. Just let her know you are changing your biz hrs to Mon thru Fri from 730 am to 5 pm. Tell her she is welcome to have slots in those hours if she can make it work. Tell her you no longer do rotating or flex schedules. You offer full time with those hours. The date for this change is xxxxx.