Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>3 yos coloring...
newtodaycare22 05:31 AM 11-03-2010
I taught kindergarten before this so although my degree is in psych/early childhood..I'm still getting used to the smallest kids

I have one 3 year old who colors perfectly and another who is struggling to hold the crayon the right way. He really wants to, but says it hurts his fingers. I know his muscles are not adjusted but the only way they'll get better is from practice. Any other advice? I'm not pushing him but he's getting so frustrated. Thanks!
TGT09 05:34 AM 11-03-2010
I have a similar situation. I have one 3 year old dcg that does really well coloring inside the lines and everything (she can even write her name) but my other 3 year old dcb (who will be 4 in May) doesn't hold the crayon the right way nor does he want to color with more than one color EVER. I have tried encouraging him to use many colors to color a picture but if he was left to do it alone, it would only be one color. Maybe it's a boy/girl thing but not sure.
Crystal 05:45 AM 11-03-2010
I do not give coloring pages, just plain paper. I also do not correct them at this age on how to properly hold the crayon/pencil etc. It is an emergent skill that will happen on it's own (usually) if you just allow them to explore and draw freely. Over time you will see the difference in theri "writing" starting with broad strokes and lines, then getting smaller, then what starts looking like letters (typically "o" first" and will then in time become writing. I don't even use tracer pages for learning letters and all of my children are writin their names by (usually before) they are 4. I say relax and let it happen on it's own
Lilbutterflie 05:47 AM 11-03-2010
Have you tried the triangular crayons? They are a little more expensive, but seem to help learn how to hold a crayon correctly for their little hands.