Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Policies
chouavang 07:01 PM 06-10-2010
What are all the policies you have that is a must? I'm new and need help with policies. Thanks!

How do you start on a handbook? Policies?
Examples?

Anything will help. Thank you!
Lilbutterflie 05:39 AM 06-11-2010
I am new to daycare as well, so I feel your pain!! You can try to do a Google search for Daycare Contract Examples, which is what I did. One thing I have learned very quickly is that my contract will never be complete! I am constantly adding things in for new clients as I go on! So many important policies, you need a sick policy (both for the DC kids and yourself), vacation policy, payment policy, hours of operation, late fees, picking up late, food, nap time, discipline, supplies needed, signing in, and the list goes on and on. You'll get an idea of the important policies when you do your internet searches.
Good luck!
AfterSchoolMom 05:44 AM 06-11-2010
Make sure that you have a payment policy in place, stating how and when you expect payment, and what late fees you'll charge if not paid on time. Make it as specific as you can and cover ALL possible scenarios. That's probably your most important one, but a policy on late pickups is probably number two, with illness policy being number three. I've found that those are the three areas that parents are most likely to take advantage of if you leave ANY little loophole!
momofboys 05:51 AM 06-11-2010
Here's most of mine. I still have a couple changes to make:

RATES, FEES & POLICIES

This agreement contains the financial terms for childcare for the following child(ren):
; ; and
; . The hours and days agreed upon for care are as follows:

DAY FROM (AM/PM) TO (AM/PM)
Sunday
Monday 7:15 am 4:45 p.m.
Tuesday " "
Wednesday " "
Thursday " "
Friday " "
Saturday

Notification must be made, in writing, if any changes are needed to these hours. Parents agree to pay childcare according to schedule.