Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Infants...
TBB 10:34 AM 03-15-2011
I am a new home provider, but I have been in child care for over 20 years. My situation is that I have 4 toddlers and a 7 month old and another one on the way that will be about 6 wks old when he begins. The toddlers are fine-I can handle them with no problem. The problem is the 7 month old-he fights his sleep terribly!! I don't know what to do! I am only using two rooms-the playroom and our living room as areas for the children (and of course, bathroom and kitchen/dining room) It isn't fair for the toddlers to have to keep quieter (which doesn't happen) when the 7 month old is needing to nap and it isn't fair to the 7 mth old that he can't sleep (WHEN he does) because they are too noisy. This 7 month old is on NO schedule whatsoever. That is also hard for me because our daughter was always on a schedule. I am new at keeping infants-I don't know if it's a situation where: "sorry, that's just the way it is, so suck it up" or if I am really doing something wrong. I've always thought that babies and all children NEED to be on some sort of a schedule. Please help! I'm trying my best and all I can think about is what is going to happen when the NEW baby begins!!!??? His mom says he's a SCREAMER!! All I can think of is that maybe this was a mistake to start a home center. Or at least keeping infants was a mistake-but what can I do about it now!!?? ANY suggestions/advice will be HIGHLY appreciated...and PRAYERS! Thank you so much!
Little People 10:45 AM 03-15-2011
Welcome!! I will send you a pm
DCMomOf3 10:45 AM 03-15-2011
Welcome!

First, I advise you to find a room where the babies can sleep, set up Pack-n-plays in your master br, or something.

Are the parent ok with you trying CIO with him? He is old enough.