Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Is This Normal? Irritated at DCM
MotherNature 10:57 AM 04-10-2013
I've been caring for a little boy for about 7 months now. He'll be 3 this weekend. I'm sure there's some delays going on, which I'll get into, but first-Is it normal for a 3 yr old to sit in a poopy diaper with no word about it? I had changed him & was laying him down for a nap & I smelled him. I asked him if he was poopy. He said yes. Sure enough, he was. This kid was content to sleep in a dirty diaper! Good thing I change before naps. Both my older kids potty trained by 3, & my 2 yr old does go to the potty when you take him, but he tells you when he's wet or if he's pooped. Is it normal for a 3 year old to not care that he's dirty? It's not like he doesn't notice, b/c if you ask him, he'll usually tell you, but he doesn't volunteer the info. He's played before for a while w/ a poopy diaper, so it's not a rare occurrence. I find myself checking him more often than what I would normally check a 3 yr old for. I'm not even getting into the potty learning readiness..