Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Got A Job - Now Getting Ready To Close - HELP!!
Unregistered 10:53 AM 08-16-2013
I just got the job I have been wanting for a long time. Still in the early childhood field, but at a different capacity, not directly with the children. I have wanted benefits and my home back for a long time. Now I have to tell parents and others. Not sure how to do it and really stressing!
HELP!!
MyAngels 11:32 AM 08-16-2013
I'd tell them in person, but follow up with a note. Maybe something like this:

Dear families,

It is with mixed emotions that I write this note today. As you know I have been providing care for over 20 years now and I have loved every moment of it, but I have reached a time in my life when I feel it is time for me to explore other opportunities outside of the home.

I have decided to close my daycare business on (whatever date). I am enclosing some information that may help you in your search for a new provider.

Thank you.
MamaBear 11:41 AM 08-16-2013
I did this same thing before when I closed down awhile back. I got the job I wanted and then knew I had to tell the parents. I didnt have to start my new job for a month so I gave my daycare parents a month advance notice. I'm not sure if that much time is really necessary because they all found alternate care in the next week or so.

I would definitely tell them in person and also hand them a letter explaining in a short but sweet letter like MyAngels said. I worried so much what the parents would think and what they would do after I closed down ~ but you really shouldn't worry about them. They will find a new daycare and move on and be fine. Just concentrate on YOU

Congratulations by the way!
mema 11:56 AM 08-16-2013
Originally Posted by MyAngels:

Dear families,