Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Hiring a Preschool Teacher: advice
Jazminsdaycare 02:20 PM 08-20-2014
Hi there,
I was just curious if anyone had some advice for me
I am interviewing teachers this week for my preschool program and I am new at this
Do I have them fill out an application?
If so, does anyone have a suggestion?
Also, do I need a contract?
Again, does anyone have a suggestion?

And what should I look for?
I plan on just having her do MGT for 3 hours a day Mon-Fri
I have a couple teachers coming by this week to meet the kids and I will show them my set up and talk with them
What do I ask? what do I look for?
I am thinking I can have them look at my set up and see if the kids can listen to her and see how they respond to her
My day care room is set up like a center already and I was thinking of telling the teacher that I pick to let me know what she needs and let her run the show when she starts teaching Is this good to do? or should I be more in charge?

My last question is, Do I pay for this visit? Or do I treat it like an interview?
I have 3 candidates
thanks in advance
kendallina 03:44 PM 08-20-2014
I've done a lot of hiring (and some firing of mistake-hires) as a preschool director and honestly, it takes some practice. I think it's great that you're doing a 'working' interview so you can see them with the kids and no, I don't think you'd have to pay them for that (we didn't and we were a large, state funded center).

Did you have them submit a resume? Yes, they should complete an application that lists references, past employers, etc.

Besides the obvious things to look for (enjoys children, gets down on floor with them [if that's the kind of thing you're looking for], seems happy with the children) I'd look for someone who is professional, eager to please you and wants to learn (or is already confident and capable with a similar teaching philosophy).