Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Anyone Here Stress Over Confronting Parents And Been Successful In FCC?
Unregistered 10:28 AM 06-09-2015
Logged out for privacy... I'm having some issues with a family who also happen be related to me. I'm relatively new in this business and have never had to confront a family about so many issues. I had to talk to the dcf that I'm related to today about another policy they broke and I had so much anxiety about it I could barely get my words out. Now it's an hour later and I'm still shaking! I hate this part of the job! I realize I've been lucky with having relatively easy families until this one. If I have this much problem talking to my own family members, do I have any chance in making it in this business?? I'm just rethinking this whole thing because of them. I consider myself awesome with the children, but I can't stand enforcing policies. Any tips to get over this anxiety and make it easier to just talk to parents when I need to?
Rockgirl 10:38 AM 06-09-2015
If it is causing you an extreme amount of stress and anxiety to talk to them in person, you could send an email or a note. If they are breaking policy and know it, though, the awkwardness should be on them, not you, when you bring it up. My dh told me that a few years ago when I didn't want to confront a parent about late payments. He said "They KNOW they owe the money. When you say it, the awkwardness is on them." It's so true!
Josiegirl 10:44 AM 06-09-2015
Relatives and friends are really challenging. You'd think they'd be grateful to have someone they trust and know care for their child/ren but they're also the first to take advantage of you because they feel they deserve more than an everyday client.