Daycare.com Forum Daycare Forum

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Main Category > Daycare Center and Family Home Forum

Daycare Center and Family Home Forum Daycare Center and Family Home owners, Directors, Operators and Assistants should post and ask questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2010, 03:24 PM
marniewon's Avatar
marniewon marniewon is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 895
Default Student Minimum Wage for Family Daycare?

Do any of you pay your teens to help in your daycare? I've been looking all over the internet for a student minimum wage, but all I can find is the one that says you can pay a youth employee under 20 years old $4.25/hour for 90 days, then it has to go up to the regular minimum wage. There are days that I don't even make minimum wage!! I can't afford to pay my kids that. I want to be able to claim those employee wages so it doesn't look like I'm making more than I am (and have higher taxes) but I would have to take taxes out of their pay also, and not sure if the IRS/DOL would do anything if I'm paying them less than min. wage. BTW, they are almost 16 and almost 14.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2010, 04:12 PM
MarinaVanessa's Avatar
MarinaVanessa MarinaVanessa is offline
Family Childcare Home
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 7,200
Default

So these are your kids right? My tax guy (which I met through a taxes for daycare workshop through my local Child Development Resources) told me that if I "paid" my kid to help out for daycare that I could claim it as emloyee pay and it's tax free as long as you stay under a certain amount a year total for all of your kids. You may want to look into that.

Also you don't have to pay your kids period to work for you because they are your kids as long as it doesn't interfere with their health, safety or education. If you choose to pay them anyway you can pay them whatever you want because minimum wage doesn't apply to your own kids, it's more like an allowance. Apparently child slave labor laws don't count if you give birth to the kids that you are employing lol. I know this part is true because I worked for my parent's petstore business since I was 16 until I was 21 without technically getting paid (I paid no rent, food, for college etc.) and my sister hung out at the business since she was 6 and ran the register from age 8 until my parent's closed it down last year at age 18. Neither one of us ever got "paid" for it and as a rebelious teenager I asked about it by calling Labor Law and asking them lol.
__________________
Daycare Ninja, CA
Helping Hands Childcare
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2010, 04:53 PM
marniewon's Avatar
marniewon marniewon is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 895
Default

Thank you so much! Now that you said that, I remember something about paying your kids up to so much per year. Now I just have to remember where I saw that!! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:22 PM
Crystal's Avatar
Crystal Crystal is offline
Advanced Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,955
Default

I pay my daughter $10 an hour to work with/for me. She's 17. I pay her what she earns and make it worth her while....she does the same work I do when she works with/for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:22 AM
TomCopeland's Avatar
TomCopeland TomCopeland is online now
Business Author/Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 3,061
Default Hiring your own children

Family child care providers can hire their own children to do work for their business. The child must do work directly related to your business, not household chores. In other words, paying your child to mow the lawn or take out the garbage will not be allowed. The work must be something that wouldn't be done if you weren't in business. You need to keep good records showing when your child did the work, what the work was, and when you paid them. You want to avoid the IRS asserting that what you paid your children was an allowance instead of a business expense.

If your child is under age 18 you do not have to pay social security taxes on these wages. If your child earns less than $5,700 in a year from all sources (2009 limit) then he or she doesn't have to pay any income taxes on these earnings.

Federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. However, if you hire just one employee (not a family member) you don't have to pay this. If you hire your own children you are not required to pay the federal minimum wage. But watch out - you may have to pay your state minimum wage, even to your own young children. Check with your state department of labor to find out your state's rules.

Tom Copeland
__________________
http://www.tomcopelandblog.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assistant, assistant age, minimum wage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensed DayCare vs. Private DayCare marylmr Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 60 02-24-2020 12:20 PM
How Long Should 4 Year Old Nap Unregistered Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 314 02-13-2018 04:48 AM
Termination Gone Wrong MsKara Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 107 03-11-2015 02:09 PM
Home Daycare Assistant Minimum Age - and Supervision? working9to5 Parents and Guardians Forum 11 01-20-2012 09:10 AM
Death in CA Home Daycare -Please Help Unregistered Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 18 06-07-2011 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming