Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Do You Charge Higher Rates Then Most?
Calikate 09:33 AM 08-24-2014
Hi everyone! Do any of you charge on the higher end for your rates? Maybe you offer special things or other high end options for parents? If you are on the high end for your area did you have a hard time filling spots? What was the reaction from clients? Thank you!!!!!!!!
nothingwithoutjoy 10:12 AM 08-24-2014
I am one of the most expensive in my area (less so, over the years, as I haven't raised my rates since I opened, but still...). Worthy wages are very important to me, and I am not willing to subsidize child care by earning a poverty income or only being able to afford what I do because of my partner's job. I pulled it off with confidence in my abilities (I've been teaching for 20 years and I'm quite good at it), documentation of my work to share with incoming families, and word of mouth. I think what I offer is well worth the money, but I don't go to extremes to try to convince parents of it; I trust that they will see the value in what I do or go elsewhere.

The only downside I've found is that I tend to only get part-time families. I've come to see that those who are willing to pay a premium for child care are usually willing to do so because they value early childhood highly...and so they are often also the ones who want to be with their children in those years. Most of my families are self-employed and enroll their kids only 2 or 3 days per week. I have a mix of wealthy families who can send their kids here full time and families who struggle to afford it, but consider it their top priority and so make it work.
NightOwl 10:27 AM 08-24-2014