Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Seeking Advice From Long Term Providers....
AnythingsPossible 01:17 PM 10-22-2015
Hello all! I am looking for some insight from seasoned childcare providers. I find myself in a position of great aggravation and am wondering if this to shall pass, or if I am at a point where I am just done!
I have been doing home childcare for 13 years and lately find myself annoyed with everything! I have turned into quite an ogre and have a hard time finding any joy in my day. It is affecting my home life in the aspect that at the end of the day I am so frustrated by how my day has gone that I am just angry and don't want to talk to anybody or listen to anything my own children have to say. I just want to be left alone.
Have any of you found yourselves in this position before? Am I just a burnt out old provider who needs to move on? I often think of leaving childcare behind, but employment opportunities in my area are few and far between right now, so I feel stuck in what I am doing, which probably doesn't help my frame of mind! Just wondering if anyone else has found themselves in this position before and if so, how they turned their frame of mind around.
Play Care 01:58 PM 10-22-2015

There is a great post on provider burnout - I think it's a "sticky" post at the top.
Can you make some changes? Getting rid of the worst offenders or maybe changing up your day care space? Can you shorten hours or take a week off and see how you feel after that?
Maybe start putting out resumes and filling our applications to see if you can get any bites? Or doing some volunteering at a place you may want to work?

Hope things work out for you!
Unregistered 02:31 PM 10-22-2015