Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Established Dayhome Adding A Pre-School Program
Wigglesandgiggles 08:39 PM 06-29-2012
I have been running a home daycare for 4 years now. In Sept, a fellow provider will be joining me and we want to offer a preschool program 2 days per week. I don't even know where to start. Ideally, I would like for us to have everything planned and ready to go for Sept, for the entire year.

Where do you purchase your curriculum?

How do you supplement your curriculum?

How do you schedule preschool into a dayhome setting?

What do you do with children under 2 during learning times?

Any additional information you can think of that might be helpful to me?

Thanks!!
Preschool/daycare teacher 07:33 PM 07-01-2012
I can try to answer some of your questions. Adding a preschool program probably wouldn't be much different than a regular daycare, but known to be more structured maybe. The one I'm at is a daycare and preschool. Here is my input on your questions:
1. curriculum: I made up my own for two years, and used funsteps one year. There are many curriculums you can purchase already boxed and ready to go each month. When I did the purchased curriculum, I asked parents to pay a monthly curriculum reimbursement fee. I took the total monthly cost and divided it by how many children were enrolled (for us it was $10/month per child). You can just add that fee into your regular daycare cost and avoid having to keep the two seperate. If you do a search for preschool curriculums you will find several (when just starting out a preschool I would recommend doing this until you get used to the extra work involved, and then begin creating your own if you want).