Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Unlicensed Providers-Lack Of Certification Holding You Back?
MotherNature 07:26 AM 02-27-2013
I've been providing care to one child (I have my own 2 yr old as well.) for 6 months now. The mom is extremely behind on paying. She was my 1st interview & I took her b/c I needed $. I'd like to take in another kid or a couple part-timers to help get some more $ in. I put my ad back up today. I have a couple questions/problems though:

It's legal in my state to be completely unlicensed, & claim the business on taxes, which is what we're doing. However, I don't have formal training, just life experience. I do not have CPR certification. It's been years since I did. I have had bloodborne pathogens certification, but it lapsed 2 years ago. I was a medical student & stayed home with my son. Someday, I may finish my degree, but for right now, I have knowledge & no degree. Should I seek classes for CPR, Early Childhood Ed, etc immediately? Will people take me seriously w/o it? I guess some people may contact me, but I'm worried they'll be problem parents. I'd love to be able to be selective of whom I take, but right now, we need the $ since DCM owes me $900.

I am serving a niche to make up for my lack of certification: Other crunchy moms..Attachment Parenting subscribers. It's also how I parent, so that's comfortable to me. My son still breastfees quite a lot, so whomever I take in has to be comfortable with this. I have no problem wearing a baby all day & using breastmilk & cloth diapers, & keep a low child-to-adult ratio b/c of this.

Also, my backyard is not fully fenced. We rent a duplex, so I can't build a fence.

Mainly, I'm worried that my certifications will hold me back. Advice? Are there other providers in a similar boat that are successful & able to be selective? Right now I think I'll have to take in whomever until I'm able to have the $ for certifications & then become more selective.