Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>I Don't Know What To Do!! Help Please!
JeepGirl6 06:50 PM 02-15-2015
I have been so back & forth with this. I have been operating my home daycare for 6 years. I just turned 29 (today is my bday :-)) I have an 18 month old son & we are trying for our second baby.

I already have my Associates Degree in Early Childhood Education & Medical Assisting so I have worked in medical facilities/hospitals & daycare centers/nanny/operating my home daycare. I just feel like something is missing. I have been thinking about going back to school to become an Occupational Therapy Assistant. The college near me has a 3 year waiting list to get into the actual program. I have 7 prerequisites to take. I can take 6 of them online. So I was thinking start my prerequisites this coming August part time. I will have them done & still have about a year to wait to get into the program. I want to be home with my children until they start school. By the time I would graduate it would be around 2020. My first born will most likely have started Kindergarten, our second will probably be around 4 years old depending on how soon I get pregnant with him/her. My sister has offered to watch my kids while I go to school so I don't have to put them in daycare. Once I start the actual program I will only be able to do daycare 2 days a week because of clinicals. I am hoping to save $$ between now & then or take $$ out with the school loans to help pay my bills while I finishing school.

Am I crazy for thinking about going back to school a third time? I don't have any benefits, retirement, paid vacation/sick days so that will be a big plus if I become an occupational therapy assistant. Let alone the job stability. I would still love to be able to work with children whether it be a school or special needs facility.