Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>A Few Questions
Pineapple 01:02 PM 05-03-2013
I got a job as a daycare assistant starting on Monday, and I'm excited for it, but I thought I'd ask a few questions, since all of you seem pretty knowledgeable/experienced.

Since most of you seem to be providers/teachers, I just thought I'd ask if there's any helpful tips you have? I've had some experience with children before (from babysitting), but nothing like this, and I have to admit, I'm kind of nervous. Also, is there anything as an assistant that I should definitely not do? I just want to do well and make a good impression on Monday.

Also, I hate to mention this, but it's been on my mind a bit. I'm male, and there aren't many men who work in daycare/ECE, and where I'm from, there's a bit of a stigma attached to it. Some people would think it's weird or creepy. I don't want to make any of the parents worried...is there anything I should say or do to alleviate any concerns they might have?

Oh, and this is kind of a silly question, but as I was reading the forum, I was wondering...how many diaper changes are needed in a day? I guess it depends on the age of the children and how many there are (I'll be working with 10 12-to-24-month-olds with one other adult). I was told that I'll be doing most of the diaper changes, since I'm the assistant, and that's fine with me, but to be honest, I've never changed a diaper before in my life. I'm sure it'll quickly become routine though, but out of curiosity, about how many diapers do you think I'd need to change in a day?
blandino 01:09 PM 05-03-2013
Originally Posted by Pineapple:
I got a job as a daycare assistant starting on Monday, and I'm excited for it, but I thought I'd ask a few questions, since all of you seem pretty knowledgeable/experienced.