Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>New Teacher-Need Help With Behavioral Issue
Unregistered 11:21 AM 12-04-2014
I am new to teaching and I am the afternoon teacher for the 2 year old classroom. There is one little boy who had graduated to the 3 year old classroom but is being sent back to the 2 year old room because of potty training issues. My main concern is not necessarily with potty training, but with some of his behaviors. It is not unusual for my 2 year olds to have meltdowns, get frustrated, not have skills in managing and understanding their feelings, but this particular child is not within the normal range with his anger and tantrums and doesn't respond to the positive discipline techniques I am used to using. I am not sure how to help him.

He gets so angry he shakes, he screams, he cries, and he is not easily distracted or comforted. If I try to talk to him about what is going on with him, even after he calms down it just sets him off again. The only thing I have been able to do is direct him to a quiet corner until he calms himself down, and get the other kids to leave him alone until he is calm again, and then reinforce the calm behavior by saying "I am glad to see you are ready to play again." I don't know what to do to help him with this anger he as that is set off so easily. Any suggestions??? This really disrupts the class. I spend so much time dealing with this, and nothing I know how to do seems to lesson these outbursts.
Michael 02:54 PM 12-04-2014
Here are some previous threads that may be of some help:

https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.php?tag=anger
https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.p...r+modification
https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.p...avior+problems
Thriftylady 05:48 PM 12-04-2014