Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>I Just Gotta Brag....
JennyBear 05:03 AM 10-01-2011
So, I'm new to this whole home daycare provider scene and I'd like to start off by saying I really enjoy it! I'm still learning a tonne but so far it's going pretty well for me.
I have two things I'd like to brag about

#1: I have a VERY difficult time with confrontation, and one of the things that has worried me about getting into this business is dealing with parents. I'm normally the type to nod and smile and even bend over backwards to avoid any type of confrontation.
So here's where I get to brag... This one family has been really pissing me off lately, taking advantage of me, not calling when son will be sick/late, etc (and soo much more..) This has been going on for about 2 months now and I always just tried to keep my mouth shut or struggle with speaking up (when I did). This whole week they have kept their son home from dc (because of a fever of 38,lol and no other symptoms) but 3 out of the 5 days they didn't even call me. I was LIVID! How disrespectful is that??!! So on Thursday evening I picked up the phone and laid into this family (professionally) and terminated his care immediately. The parents were so taken back (I think they thought they could get away with all of this forever). It feels so good to actually stand up for myself and my new business that I just wanted to share with others that could relate

#2: (this one makes me tear up)