Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Start Up Daycare Before or After I Have a Baby??
teacher28 03:32 PM 08-02-2010
Hi everyone! I'm curious as to how all of you started up your daycare? I am currently a teacher and have been for the past 5 years now. I think this would be a fun and great way to be able to stay at home with my child when that time comes. We don't have any kids as of right now.

Here's my big question. I wasn't sure if I should start the daycare up before I have my first child or wait until after I have a baby and then after about 6-8 months when I was ready start up the daycare? My husband is going to be working on finishing the basement and I originally wanted to have everything up and running by June 2011 so I could start enrolling kids either over next summer or in Sept. 2011. We were also thinking about getting pregnant this spring so then I was thinking that if I get pregnant in the meantime and have my own baby in 2012 would it make things really complicated? I don't like the idea of closing down the daycare for only 2 weeks when I have my own baby. What advice do you all have!? Thanks so much again!
nannyde 04:05 PM 08-02-2010
My son was born seven years after I started child care. I lost half of my clients within two months time so it was pretty tough being a new Mom and building my business back up. A year later I moved and did a BIG renovation on the basement level of the new house. That was another difficult time.

You deal either way. Most people I know that do child care start after their second child is born. That's when the cost of child care becomes more expensive than what the Mom can make in the work force and child care is a way to make money from home.