Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Waiting To Start Preschool--Ideas For Other Income
MsJoy 04:53 PM 12-18-2010
Hi all,

I've posted recently about my plans to start a nature-based (and/or Christian) preschool. While I was hoping to get it off the ground this January, I haven't had any calls. Instead, I thought I would wait until this summer or fall and re-advertise it then.

My question is this: I have three toddlers now, but two will be returning to their regular daycare in January (she's been on maternity leave) which will leave me with one full-time 16 mo. old girl. This works well with my son, who is 20 months. I'd LOVE to just have the two of them (so much less noise/stress/mess!) but financially I can't swing it.

SO. . . I'm trying to figure out what to do in the meantime. I can either take on some more kids but let the parents know that I'm hoping to start the preschool in the summer/fall or take on some writing work (I was a writer in my "other life"). Or something else? I'm not sure what to do. Will parents really want to put their child in daycare only to have to find someone else once my preschool gets off the ground? Or maybe it would be best to try to take only kindergarteners (sp?) or after school kids in the interim? Ack! So many options!

Any opinions welcome, thanks!
Preschool/daycare teacher 06:44 PM 12-18-2010
I don't know what your town is like (how big it is, how many children, etc), but would it help if you advertised for babysitting (just random times, whenever the parents need someone for a "date night", etc)? Or would that interfere with your family time too much to have an extra child once and awhile? I know it wouldn't be reliable money and not anything you could count on, but it might help a little in the mean time. And it might help get you enrollments when you DO start preschool, since some families would already know and trust you by that time?