Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
New Members - Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum!>New to Early Child Care Teaching and Feeling Overwhelmed
Catmom1995 10:05 PM 04-10-2021
Hello, I’m new to the world of daycare teaching. I also ramble so this may be a novel. I was furloughed and saw a job add for a daycare near my home looking for childcare providers. Did the interview and found out it would be teaching, was explained more of like co-teaching. I don’t have a daycare background and figured I would be paired with someone whose been doing this for a while and help. Was explained briefly about the job details like being given the curriculum and lesson planning on top of stuff like diaper changing or potty training. My only time working with children was babysitting for many years growing up. But they assured me they love to take on newbies willing to learn the childcare industry.

So I started, my first week they were training me in a 3 year olds class room to eventually take over as the teacher of that room. It wasn’t working out, I asked for a younger room and I’m now in the 1 year olds class. This room has just reopened and they are training me to take over as the teacher in that room. I definitely like the age better. But I feel over whelmed I don’t know if I’m being overly dramatic or what. I’ve been briefly shown the curriculum and how it goes. The one girl who trained me said just copy the examples of activities listed for your lesson plans. Which I said okay I guess that makes sense. Till I get in the one year olds class, Friday the director comes in and hands me a paper for a theme week next week and says incorporate this into your lesson plans.... I had no idea o was expected to write one yet.